Bright and Bold Make-Up – The Current Trend

January 26, 2010

As bold is beautiful right now in the fashion world, when it comes to make up at least, I look back on a couple of cosmetic snaps my photographer friend Michael took a few years ago.

My day to day makeup is fairly plain, its got to be said, I don’t walk around town in broad daylight with excessively bright colours on my eyes. Saying that, I LOVE it when other people do it, although it needs to look good, not like you’ve had a fight with your make-up bag. And I love a good old splash of colour on the eyes on a night out, coupled with HUMUNGOUS eyelashes. Or dark bronzer on your cheeks that can make the chubbiest of faces look defined. Not to mention a dazzling colour on the lips. Perhaps not all at once, but you get the jist.

So anyway, reading this week’s copy of Grazia (issue 254) I learnt that bright colours are back and your face can wear them just as well as your body. They advise that bright pinks can work wonders on the eyes, and that a navy blue looks delicious with a tangerine orange.

This sparked a memory. Two years ago, my friend Michael and I were piddling around with his new camera and I was in the middle of a make-up related art project. We took photos of my eyes after I’d made them over.

Clearly, me and Michael… waaaaay ahead of the times. For some of Michael’s other stunning work have a look at his DevianrtArt page here.

Leave a comment